Table of Contents
If you are planning to make a career in the trades in Mississippi, you should consider the HVAC industry. The HVAC industry in Mississippi is booming and offers a promising career for anyone interested in trade careers.
HVAC career opportunities in Mississippi are projected to continue to grow over the next several years. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that job prospects will be excellent for technicians in this field.
This article will provide you important information about earning, licensing and examinations associated with HVAC career and business in Mississippi.
How Much Do The Hvac Techs Earn?
The average hourly wage of HVAC technicians in Mississippi is $16.07. They go on to earn up to $23.83 as they gain experience in the field. The average annual salary is $33,420 and senior techs can earn up to $49,560. HVAC technician salaries are in the top 51% of all careers in Mississippi.
The range can depend on certification, experience, and type of position.
Scope Of HVAC Work
HVAC technicians work on heating, ventilation, cooling, and refrigeration systems that control the air quality and temperature in many types of buildings. The capabilities of HVAC techs and contractors include design, installation, repair, change-outs, preventative maintenance, and testing.
Projects for HVAC professional can include individual houses, high-rise apartment buildings, schools, hotel and gaming resorts, office buildings, government, military, and healthcare facilities.
HVAC Contractor Licensing
HVAC licensing in Mississippi is regulated by the Mississippi State Board of Contractors. HVAC contractors need a license to take up any type of HVAC projects. Technicians working as employees of a licensed contractor do not require a license. The license pertaining to HVAC work falls under Mechanical Work Certificate. It covers all aspects of heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration including fuel gas systems, appliances and duct work.
Privately funded jobs over $100,000 per job or publicly funded jobs over $50,000 per job require a state contractor’s license. For anything that falls below that amount you do not need a state license but should meet the requirements of the city or county where you will be doing the job.
There are two categories of state licensing: Commercial and Residential. The application fee for a commercial license is $200 and the esidential license fee is $50.
Application forms can be downloaded from the Board’s website.
Applicants are required to:
- Submit a financial statement that is reviewed by CPA within the last twelve months with a net worth of at least $20,000
- Submit proof of general liability insurance
- Submit proof of workers’ compensation insurance
- Pass Law and Business Management and trade exams
- Submit details of any experience in HVAC projects
The Board meets four times a year, on the second Wednesday of January, April, July and October. You must have your application in 30 days prior to the Board meeting and then pass your exam before the Board meets.
A licensed HVAC contractor in Mississippi is eligible to handle all aspects of heating and cooling, including equipment and ductwork.
Currently, the state of Mississippi does not require continuing education for HVAC license.
The state of Mississippi has license reciprocity agreements with Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, and South Carolina. Contractors who are already licensed with at least one of these states can obtain the license to work in Mississippi without repeating the same testing and licensing process. To avail the license reciprocity, the contractors must have held the license in one of these states for at least three consecutive years.
Contractor exams in Mississippi are conducted by PSI Examination Services (PSI). Applicants must pass examinations in HVAC and Law and Business Management. Upon the submission of an appropriate application, the State Board will notify PSI of the applicant’s eligibility to take the examinations. Subsequently, PSI will email the applicant a confirmation notice.
The HVAC exam has 80 questions and a 4-hour time limit. A score of 70% is required to pass the exam.
Topics of the examination include:
- Hangers and Supports
- Sound, Vibration and Seismic Control
- Heating and Cooling Principles
- Refrigerants and Refrigeration
- Load Calculations
- Testing, Adjusting, and Balancing
- A/C and Heat Pump Equipment
- Furnaces and Heaters
- Chimneys, Flues and Vents
- Combustion Air
- Fuel Gas Systems
- LP Gas Systems
- Boilers and Hydronics
- Machine Room
- Evaporative Cooling
The Law and Business Management exam has 50 questions and a 2-hour time limit. A score of 70% is required to pass the exam
Topics of this examination include:
- Estimating and bidding
- Lien law
- Financial management
- Tax laws
- Labor laws
- Project management
- Business organization
- Risk management
- Environmental and safety
These are open-book examinations. The Board recommends these books for preparation and reference:
You might also find useful some of the other useful HVAC reference material we’ve reviewed.
Contractors may sign up for prep courses offered by American Contractors and Mississippi Contractor Licensing Service.
More information about the examination is available in Candidate Information Bulletin.
EPA Section 608 Certification
Technicians must pass an EPA-approved exam to obtain this certification. They can take specific tests to suit the type of equipment they seek to work on.
For more details, check our article about EPA 608 Certification.
Well-trained contractors and technicians are crucial in the HVAC industry. Demand for certified and professional tradespeople is on the rise in Mississippi. Certified HVAC contractors can enjoy a promising career and grow their businesses as they gain experience in the field.