Table of Contents
If you want to launch your career in West Virginia as an HVAC contractor, you need to obtain a certification that provides a license to perform installation, maintenance and repair work on HVAC systems. To get the license, you are required to complete two exams which are (a.) business and law and (b.) the trade exam. These will be pen-and-paper tests that require you to score 70% to pass.
Of course, it’s not necessary that the contractor him- or herself be the one taking the exam; however, they must employ a person who does meet these qualifications in order to make bids and accept contracts for HVAC work.
Apart from that, you are required to provide proof of workers’ compensation, tax registration, and employment security coverage. Once you receive an HVAC contractor’s license, such license will be valid up to one year within West Virginia.
Upon clearing the exam and receiving the license, it’s understood that you demonstrate a wide range of skills in the field such as installing, repairing, and maintaining HVAC units in residential or commercial spaces; analyzing air quality, humidity levels, and temperature control mechanisms; understanding the fundamentals of heating and refrigeration systems; and using relevant electronic parts.
As a part of certification and licensure process, technicians are required to certify that they have at least two thousand hours (2,000) of experience and/or training working on HVAC systems and at least six thousand hours (6,000) of experience and/or training in HVAC systems and relating work which includes other sheet metal industry tasks. You must submit a list of employers or customers for whom you performed HVAC work.
You can get started by finding an HVAC certified school or program by filling out the form below:
Study and preparation process
The information below will help you prepare better for the tests and help you build a study schedule.
- This is a 3-hour exam with 84 questions
- 70% is required to pass the exam
- Topics on the exam include general regulations, load calculations, code requirements, controls, fuel systems, ducting, insulating, piping, and safety.
- The exam fee is $42.
- Schedule your exam with ProV at 1-866-720-7768.
Some reference books that you should stack up in your bookshelf are:
Applying for the License
Here are the details about the application process:
- Obtain an application from the West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board by calling 1-877-558-5134.
- The licensing and application fee is $90.
If the application is being sought by a corporation, then a copy of the certificate of authority from the West Virginia Secretary of State’s office must be submitted along with the application.
Here's a couple addresses that would come in handy:
West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board at (304) 558-7890
West Virginia Division of Labor
Contractor Licensing Board
State Capital Complex, Bldg. 9, Rm. 749
Charleston, WV 25305
To apply for an examination:
200 Association Drive, Suite 190
Charleston, WV 25311
866-720-7768 or 304-414-0190 Ext.4 (Locally)
HVAC technicians or contractors in West Virginia are also be required to be certified by the EPA if they want to work on a project involving refrigerants. This is referred to as the EPA Section 608 certification. This is mandatory across the USA and is apart from the licensure that is being obtained for the state.
To obtain this, you are required to complete relevant examinations.
This exam certifies you about the use and application of specific types of refrigerants.
It is very encouraging for mechanical engineers and HVAC technical novices to start their career in West Virginia. Though a licensure is mandatory for contractors under this state’s jurisdiction, freshly certified graduates from HVAC training institutions are not required to be licensed in order to work on HVAC systems and equipment.
However, they can only work under the supervision of fully certified technicians. This allows apprentices to gain knowledge and work experience to validate their career choice.
Looking For Information On Nearby States?
You might also be interested in HVAC licensing requirements in bordering states: